Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Euros, Food, and Tourism Oh My!

Yes it's a bad title, just call me the bad titler. Yesterday after Megan went to work, the lady driving us went to a shopping strip just south of Old Town (where all the resteraunts are) to go shopping so I just walked from there. We ran out of euros Sunday and were forced to use an ATM (Ouch 3% fee) to withdrawal 50 euros, enough to make it through the next day if we couldn't get to a bank for whatever reason. Megan took them so she would have some money and I was headed to a bank to get change.

It was about 10 when she dropped us off and I was starving (hadn't eaten anything) we'd been up since 6:30 and I'm a breakfast person. I walked around for about 30 minutes, stopped in 2 banks which weren't helpful. I finally went in a travel agency place, sat down and started talking to them about Castles and she wasn't very helpful, finally she gets up to get a brochure from elsewhere and I notice that behind here there's a huge wall of cruise magazines. At that point, I realized i was in the wrong place.

I asked where I could get change and explained that I'd already been to two banks, one wouldn't give change and the other required me to have an account. She told me there were 3 around the corner, so I left. Yeah, there were no banks, at least that I could find. so I went to a tourist kiosk thing that she had referred me to on a map. Talk about helpful!

I ended up getting Euros and then proceeded to walk around for almost an hour trying to find a place open. I mean, all the shop's doors are open, people talking, in some instances people standing there with all the food out. And I had no idea when they said they were going to be open! I passed Mcdonalds and burger king about 2-3 times but absolutely refused. No way am I eating that here.

I ended up walking home with nothing and eating lunch after walking around for another 30-45 minutes on the other side of our block trying to find a place to give me a Gyro type thing and never could find one. Ate lunch after going to the grocery at about 1. It was frustrating.

The good news is that I'm now very familiar with the area.

I did find out that this Saturday for 7 Euros there is a Museum marathon where they all stay open till 1 or 2 AM and with a single ticket you can gain access to all the museums around. We're going to look more into this :)

4 comments:

  1. i bet your German gets good pretty quickly. sounds like an adventure. the museum weekend sounds awesome. do you know what museums they have there?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Good for you for not giving in to McDonald's or BK! It sounds like the hunt for food paid off since you learned a lot about the area. I agree with Ellie, I bet you pick up German quickly. By the time Scott and I get there, I bet you 2 will be fluently speaking the language!

    ReplyDelete
  3. That's the Ben I've always known... staying up until 2am sauntering around museums...

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't researched any Museums yet, I'll probably start that tonight or tomorrow. I've asked if they had a Holocaust Museum and have been told no.

    ReplyDelete